Corn Cake with Coconut (Bombocado de Milho)

           I know my last post was also a corn cake, and yes, I know how to do other kinds of gluten free cakes, but I had to post this one for two reasons. First, this recipe is  much easier  and as delicious as the other one and I know everyone will love it. Secondly, two friends asked me for the recipe so they can make it for the baby shower/picnic we are having next weekend. Oh yeah, and there is a third reason too. I keep losing this recipe, so if I post it here, I won’t ever lose it again.
I made the cake this afternoon; now it is 11 o’clock and it’s all gone. That definitely makes a cook happy!
Now I understand why my grandma keeps pushing us to eat two or three times more. If you see an empty pan, you don’t need any compliments because you know it was a success. According to my grandma, the best Chef is hunger. Leave your guest hungry for a while and they will love your food. Oh grandma’s wisdom! I should  keep a book of her sayings.
Well, let’s get to this complicated recipe already.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans of condensed milk
  • 2 cans of corn
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 tablespoon of unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoon of baking powder
  • 2-3 cups of unsweetened coconut flakes ( to your preference if you like the coconut texture in the cake)
    I cook with 3 full cups.

 Procedure:

  1. Preheat the oven to 385 degrees F.
  2. Grease and powder with gluten free flour the cake pan you will use.
  3. Blend first the 6 eggs for about 2 minutes.
  4. Then add the condensed milk, butter, and corn and blend for 4 more minutes.
  5. Add the baking powder and the coconut flakes and blend it quickly (about 1 minute) in low speed. You don’t want to grind the flakes.
  6. Pour the mixture in the pan and bake it for about 30 minutes.
  7. It’s ready when you get that golden crust on top.

        Dig in!

2 thoughts on “Corn Cake with Coconut (Bombocado de Milho)

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a comment